I’ll Become a Villainess That Will Go Down in History Ch. 122

Previous |ToC| Next


“Alicia.”

I’m about to enter a classroom when I hear Duke-Sama call out to me. Slowly, I turn around to face him.

I’m surprised to see not only Duke-Sama, but Curtis-Sama as well standing right next to him. How can these two stand out so much? Both of their auras are completely different from the average person’s.

Like a matter of course, all the surrounding girls giggle and squeal shyly whenever they’re nearby. Though, these two don’t seem to notice. The noise must be so normal to them that they’ve already grown accustomed to it.

I, however, am not used to it. All their shrill voices and excited, bubbly chatter makes me want to get as far away from them as I physically can.

“Yes? What can I do for you?” I ask unhappily holding my ground and forcing a smile onto my face.

“Come to classes with us from now on,” Duke-Sama says evenly.

“What?”

“Ali-chan, you’re obviously exceptionally talented. And we know just how smart you are, too. With your skills, we’re sure you’ll do just fine keeping up with our classes,” Curtis-Sama adds, probably trying to reassure me. But it’s not reassuring at all.

No. Way. Absolutely not.

I can’t even use magic right now! And if I’m in the same classes as Duke-Sama and them, wouldn’t that mean that Liz-san will be there as well?

No. I can’t. If I am eventually found out, I at least refuse to let Liz-san be there to witness my disgrace.

“I must decline,” I say regally, giving the two of them a polite smile. Then I move as if to enter my originally targeted classroom.

“So you were lying when you said you’d stay by my side and protect me, is that it?” Duke-Sama questions, an obvious smirk playing on his lips.

…..Ah, why did I say that? I blurted that out so confidently, too….

“No, of course not. Ali-chan isn’t the sort to tell lies.”

Curtis-Sama….. Knowing my personality, you phrased it like that on purpose, didn’t you?

He really might be the most frustrating and troublesome type to deal with.

I stand there frozen for a moment, staring at the two, my mind squabbling for an appropriate comeback but coming up blank.

“But, there’s no reason for her to suddenly skip to the highest grade?” Gilles notes.

I felt like I was drowning just a moment ago, but his words keep my head above water like he just threw me a life-preserver.

Thank you, Gilles!!

And he’s exactly right! It would be extremely weird for me to suddenly skip five whole grades. There is absolutely no reason for it.

Plus, if I join the senior class, won’t Albert-Oniisama and Gayle-Sama be there as well? If earlier is any indication, I don’t think the three of us would be able to harmoniously attend class together. There’s too much hostility between us to be able to learn anything together.

“Well, if I say it’s because I want to be together with Alicia, then isn’t that reason enough?”

What!?

Unintentionally, I let my mouth fall open.

Dang it! The shock was too much and I let it show on my face. As a villainess, I must be able to keep my emotions under wraps.

But that line was just foul play. What is going on with him? He’s not acting like himself. And look at his face! He’s clearly making fun of me!

“Aren’t you being way to presumptuous right now!?”

“I’m just saying my thoughts out loud. Like you requested.” Wink. Smirk.

Urgh!

“…..I liked you better when you were being silent and taciturn!” I mutter furiously under my breath.

“Did you say something?”

“No. Nothing.”

Ah!! Have I learned nothing from my slip-up earlier today? Why didn’t I think more before I spoke? This is all because I went and said something unnecessary again!

Ugh, I can’t let myself be thought of as a woman who breaks her word. But I also can’t just agree to this!

…What am I supposed to do?

“Stop worrying about it and let’s just go.”

With those words, Duke-Sama closes the distance between us and unceremoniously picks me up, throwing me over his shoulder like a sack of potatoes.

“Eh!?”

He’s doing this again!? He’s seriously going to carry me in this way in front of this many people?

My dignity as a villainess…..!

“Put me down this instant!”

“Why? It’s not like this is the first time I’ve carried you like this.”

“That time and this time are entirely different! Think about the location! The circumstances! How are these even considered comparable!?”

“Talking casually with me now, huh…? I like it. Make sure to drop the honorifics with me from now on.”

“What makes you think you can order me around like this!?”

I struggle frantically in his grasp, but Duke-Sama’s hold on me is strong. His arms are like iron bars, they don’t budge.

“Curtis, let’s go.”

“Roger that…. Hmm. Maybe I should carry you too?” Curtis-Sama says, smirking down at Gilles.

Gilles’s eyes widen very slightly as he vigorously shakes his head.

Wait… Gilles…? You can’t turn on me like this. Don’t just stand there…. Help me!

“This is kidnapping!! Unhand me! You are taking me against my will!!”

“Honorifics.”

“I don’t recall agreeing to abide by your commands.”

“Alicia, you should be happy~ I’m taking you to the classroom that your beloved Liz will be learning in~” Duke-Sama says, grinning in a devilish, teasing way.

Ah…. He’s doing this on purpose. I just know it!

To think he’s this sadistic…. I’ve vaguely known for a while that he had this side to him, but I never realized the full extent of it…..

Could he be doing this because he realized that I can’t use magic right now? He’s already surpassed level 100, so it wouldn’t be surprising if he was able to tell somehow.

And even without magic, he’s always had an uncanny ability to read me like an open book. He already knows that I gave my eye away, and obviously the only way to do that is through magic. Knowing him, just from that fact he might have realized that something is amiss with me right now.

I can’t be certain whether he knows or not, but seeing the situation, I’m quickly running out of options.

“Um….. When the time comes, please help me out, okay?” I say, as if giving up. Though I’m intentionally vague since I don’t know how much he knows.

“Don’t you prefer handling everything on your own?” Duke-Sama asks, giving me a look as if he can see right through me.

…..Why do I feel such immense regret after every little thing I say to this man?

What is with today? Why is nothing working out for me!?

“Don’t worry. When push comes to shove, Duke will definitely come to your rescue,” Curtis-Sama whispers into my ear, too quiet for Duke-Sama to hear.

Previous |ToC| Next


T/N: Much shorter, but still a very fun chapter, right? 😀 I love how flustered Alicia gets when it comes to Duke hahaha. I can’t help but imagine her blushing like a tomato while yelling at him, true tsundere style XD

Chapter Note:

In Japanese, it’s very easy to talk “politely” using “honorifics.” In this chapter, some of Alicia’s dialogue becomes polite merely because she adds a “desu” at the end. I’m honestly at a loss for how to transmit this information to you, the readers, seeing as English doesn’t have such clear cut formality markers. Judging by what is actually being said in the dialogue (Duke’s reactions to Alicia), I think it is clear when she is using honorifics and when she isn’t, but I could add something like “(polite)” and “(casual)” at the end of dialogue to indicate these changes or maybe use different types/amounts of quotation marks…. But I worry that such things might interrupt the flow of the story.

Another reason I’m hesitant to add anything is because then I need to decide how often I’m going to continue doing so. Do I limit it to this chapter? Do I only do this for Alicia? I could add it only when relevant to the dialogue and the story, but then you’ll be left wondering during other parts whether she’s being polite or not….

Honestly, it will be a lot to think about and a bit of a pain, so I’d rather not. I’d have to go back and mark some sentences within the last couple of chapters as well, so it’s not a small amount of work…. But, if you feel like you’re missing out on something without it, then I’d be willing to do it! Just let me know!! (If I don’t end up adding markers, then I will still try to leave notes like this at the bottom of chapters if I feel like an explanation is necessary. And you can always feel free to ask me in the comments if there is something you don’t understand, or want more information about!)

For now though, just know that Alicia had been talking politely up until she was yelling at Duke that the location and circumstances are different. She then adds honorifics back in when she’s saying that “this is kidnapping” and she keeps them for the rest of the chapter.

24 thoughts on “I’ll Become a Villainess That Will Go Down in History Ch. 122

Add yours

  1. Bleh
    Duke is being way to over bearing lol
    She has a reason to refuse.. why don’t you get it? Also like.. maybe not this week, but how about she joins next week? Huh ? Huh? huh?
    Many thanks

    1. Well he’s an adult rn and 5 years age gap is quite a bit so irl he’s definitely be seen as a creep, however this also applies to the saintess, gender does not make her not a creep if she have an romantic interest on someone 5 years younger while being an adult. But meh this world is fantasy and the main point of it is to tell a fantasy story, not about any ideas, so we shouldn’t care about it and just enjoy or hate the story alone

  2. Thanks for the chapter.

    I think if you really want to portray English in a formal tone in writing you could use references to Shakespeare that’s been translated to more modernized English. It may take on a more dramatic tone at times, but it would most certainly be more formal.

    1. Hmm, that’s a really good idea! Though, considering Alicia uses honorifics more often then not, it might be kind of hard making sure most of her dialogue is written that way. If it was the opposite, that would be pretty awesome! But as it is, I think it might end up being a lot if she always sounded like that 🤔 I’ll look into though!

      1. Ugh, I hope not. One of my client’s books that I edit is done in that language and it’s a pain to write correctly, and if you haven’t done it up to this point it’s best to leave it alone for consistency’s sake. When you break out of consistency it jars the reader out of the story, which disrupts the ‘suspension of disbelief’ that is an important key to keeping readers hooked.
        *sigh* I feel like I’ve said that a million times now. Editor work is rough stuff, man.

  3. Flower you could always make the lines that are polite into be italicized and non polite can be normal ver of text. it wouldnt be much work on your part and it would make it easy to differentiate between polite and nonpolite speech

  4. I can’t picture how Curtis whispered in Ali’s ear, there. Ali’s is ‘on Duke’s shoulder like a father carrying a child’ (which I’m having difficulty picturing in the first place, if she is 17!) so is Curtis eight feet tall or something?
    Think Author-san needs to switch that to a princess carry.

    1. I kept going back and forth thinking she’s sitting on his shoulder and thinking that he’s carrying her lack a sack of potatoes….. it could be either from the way it’d phrased, so maybe I chose the wrong one. But, I just thought that Alicia would not just give up and allow herself to be carried in such a ladylike fashion! But in the end, I’m still unsure… I probably should have made a note about that too

      1. Ah, so dumped over his shoulder like a sack of rice… with the reference to a father picking up his kid I pictured what I used to do when my kids were small enough, having them sit on my shoulder. I suppose I might have tossed them over my shoulder once or twice, too.

        1. I remember when I was younger, my dad or uncle would pick me up like a sack of potatoes haha. There were times when I sat on his shoulder too, but you brought up a good point. There’s no way Curtis would be able to reach her like that! Plus, only good kids get picked up like that XD For the bad, struggling ones, a “potato carry” is more effective I would think

        2. There’s no sitting involved, from what I’ve understood. There’s that part with lifting a smaller person, like a child or a small framed girl/woman, by wrapping your arms around them at thigh level, then lifting. The person carried might end up bent over, like a sack of potatoes, or, if they’re struggling or holding onto their dignity like Alicia here, standing and pushing at the shoulders of the person carrying them, or just holding onto them. I’ve seen it used in manga/mahwa about as much as the princess carry, by MLs on FLs…I guess Asians find that cute…here, in Europe, it’s mostly applied to actual children by their much older caretakers.

      2. Hmm, maybe I don’t remember it right, but: the first time he carried her like this, wasn’t it mentioned, that he took her on his uninjured arm, or something like that?
        So I imagine her more like sitting on his arm and leaning on his shoulder while locked up by both of his arms. If her head drops (because of resignation ;)), Curtis would be able to whisper in her ear (without flying mid air). That would also fit the potatato-sack-description.
        Either way, this scene is so cute.
        Thank you so much for the chapters!!!

        Regarding the polite speech/keigo: as in this chapter you could probably guess which one she or the others are using out of the context. As an alternative, I’d probably most like some kind of sign at the end of the quotation like “…”* to mark the use of keigo, since this wouldn’t disturb the flow of reading as much as words or an alterated phrasing. But as you stated, if you had to do this for every conversation and not only for the interaction between Alicia and Duke, it seems kind of unnecessary.

        Sorry, I filled to much space with my babbling >.<!
        Again, thank you very much!!! I love this story!

  5. Carried on the shoulder like a child. For a prince Duke acts more luke a caveman carrying Ali like a newly caught wench booty

Leave a Comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑