I’ll Become a Villainess That Will Go Down in History Ch. 98

Previous |ToC| Next


Albert-Oniisama stiffens and stares at me.

“If you don’t want to kill anyone, then why would you bother learning how to use that dangerous thing?”

“That dangerous thing?” cries Albert-Oniisama, outraged.

Ever since he was little, he’s loved the idea of chivalry, swords, and knights standing up for what’s right. So to him, insulting his weapon is basically the worst insult you throw at him.

“For what reason do you have a sword then?”

“To protect the people I care about.”

“Then, if those people that you care so much about were to be murdered, can you swear that you won’t seek retribution? That you still won’t bloody your weapon and kill someone?”

“To seek revenge to settle your own hatred will only ever breed more hatred,” Liz-san cuts in before Albert-Oniisama has the chance to reply.

If she insists on butting in whenever the conversation turns less favorable for her precious ideals, then things are going to get much more complicated for me. But I get what she’s saying. Hatred only breeds more hatred. Seeking revenge will likely send you spiraling into a never ending cycle of hate, vengeance, and despair.

She’s not entirely wrong, either. It’s just that there’s no answer that is right 100% of the time. There will be situations where capitalizing on that hatred and seeking revenge is the only way to resolve the issue.

Ah! What a marvelously villainous philosophy to have! It seems that even my thoughts are becoming those of a true villainess now.

“Forgiveness is also important,” Liz-san adds.

I hadn’t expected her to continue. So for a moment, I feel lost. Where is she even going with this?

But I’ll say….. saying that sort of line with that pure, innocent, angelic smile….. as I thought, I just can’t bring myself to like her.

“So you’re saying that if your family was killed, then you would do nothing?”

“…..Even if they were killed, I still wouldn’t be able to take another person’s life. No matter what the reason, that’s going too far.”

“Pretty speech. But reality isn’t half as beautiful as that.”

“Hypocrite,” Gilles murmurs under his breath. But then he looks straight at Liz-san. “Do you even realize what you did earlier? You can say that killing is bad and that you’d never take a life, but that’s all bullsh*t. Just minutes ago you were the one that was trying to get Alicia killed!”

Suddenly it’s like the flood gates are open and words are practically spilling out of Gilles’s mouth. Even though he typically wouldn’t say anything during these exchanges……

I take my eyes away from Liz-san for a moment to look at him. Really look at him.

His eyes are seething with cold fury as he glares at Liz-san. The look nearly takes my breath away, there’s so much unbridled rage in it. His eyes are chilling me to the bone, and I’m someone who’s close with him, so I can only imagine what Liz-san must be feeling right now while being on the receiving end.

“She wasn’t trying to kill Alicia. She was trying to stop Alicia from killing someone else,” Gayle-Sama states contemptuously. His eyes stare hard at Gilles as if he’s merely an ignorant child just wanting attention.

True. I was trying to kill that guy, but they were the ones who plotted to kill me first. And after Liz-san cast her magic on me, she basically gave handed me a death sentence. If Duke-Sama hadn’t stepped in, that thug would have surely killed me.

“You must be blind,” Gilles scoffs.

Gayle-Sama is quite smart, so with a bit of explanation, he should be able to understand, but….. if he truly has been brainwashed by Liz-san then there’s no point. No matter what we say, whatever mush that’s left of his brain just won’t get it.

“That man was unarmed. But that didn’t stop Alicia from coming at him with an ax and trying to kill him. She didn’t even hesitate,” Liz-san says, looking at the two of us challengingly.

As the person charged with monitoring Liz-san, I guess there are some things that I need to explain to her after all.

“Those men had kidnapped me with the intention of killing me. And the man that I tried to kill with the ax was not unarmed, he possessed a knife. One that he promptly pulled out and tried to kill me with after I was rendered completely defenseless by you. Not to mention, it was one of your rabid fans that orchestrated this whole incident in the first place.”

At that, Liz-san’s eyes fly wide open in surprise.

Ugh…. Those emerald green irises! No matter how many times I see them, I can’t help but feel captivated.

“That was his own choice. Liz didn’t do anything wrong!” Eric-Sama shouts, raising his voice to a low roar.

That wasn’t really the point. I was just trying to explain that the murderous intent wholly originated on their side and that my actions were in self defense. But, as always, nothing I say is getting through to them at all.

“Liz-san, you may be right. If you don’t repay hatred with hatred, then it will lose its power. That could very well be the wisest decision a person can make.”

I straighten my posture and carefully make sure to keep my tone serious but neutral. As I do this, I look straight at Liz-san. I need to be the most dignified and magnificent person here. That way, Liz-san might actually listen to me. She might actually learn something from this.

As the villainess and also as Liz-san’s monitor, it’s my duty to get through to her.

“But, at some point you need to face reality. The only one who would be able to live like that is you,” I declare, a sneer raising the corner of my lips.

Previous |ToC| Next


T/N: Haha, this chapter was tiny. Sorry! But that’s just the way the cookie crumbles XD Also, I already know I will not be putting up a chapter tomorrow. But, you can expect a chapter twice as long as this one on my Saturday! (EST)

The battle between Liz’s flower field and Alicia’s logic is still inconclusive after this. So we won’t know who was right until future chapters! But, of the 776 votes at the time of posting this, 668 of you, a whopping 86%, don’t think Liz will face any sort of punishment! (Not that I’m surprised. I kind of doubt she’ll be punished too.) What’s interesting is that the “how” is still pretty split. 8.7% think Liz will learn from this, 33.8% think her groupies will step in, and 44.7% think she’ll learn nothing and receive no punishment. It’s fun to know that there are still some people who have hope for her! I’d like to believe that there is hope as well 🙂

My favorite responses were:

  • She’ll cry and because she’s the saint it’ll just be let go
    • This is too realistic T-T
  • No, but one of her “followers” will start breaking free from the brain washing
    • This would be AWESOME! Please!?
  • Neil will be punished. Liz and useless people who came with her will get small punishment. This will lead the group to hate Alicia further ending up with same thing sending assassins to kill alicia.
    • Nice. Cycle of hatred in the act! It’s like you knew they were going to talk about that in this chapter XD (But Neil is already dead lol. Duke killed him hahahaha)

And lastly:

  • How do we see the results haha
    • Not really an answer, but this cracked me up. I forgot to click the check box to allow you to see them! But I’ve fixed that now, so you should be able to go back and look at the more detailed breakdown 😉

And an honorable mention to everyone who didn’t follow directions and answered how they wanted Liz to be punished XD Off the top of my head I saw burning, an avalanche of karma, banishment, an agonizing death that makes her realize the error of her ways, and, my personal favorite from the comment’s section, “stubbing her pinky toe in the worst way possible” hahaha (courtesy of Anonymous).

I love you all! Thanks for making this so much fun 😀

45 thoughts on “I’ll Become a Villainess That Will Go Down in History Ch. 98

Add yours

  1. … these are the folks who are supposed to be running the country? Well, if nothing else, they’ve exposed exactly how weak willed and gullible they are so maybe this is a good thing so they’re replaced. Especially Albert. He isn’t fit to be a Duke under … Duke.

    1. Well, at least Duke shows brains. All he needs to do is kick his father off the throne for incompetence, sack anybody who supported this stupid scheme to try and teach a pig to act in an opera and then hire truly competent people to do the work instead.
      Any noble who complains or rants about noble supremacy gets ‘off with their head as it’s clearly useless’

      1. Works for me.

        It would be nice if he also installed Alicia as his wife since I get the feeling he really objected because of how much he lov—- values her.

  2. Whatever happens to Alicia, whether she escapes or be banish. I know she would be able to survive, she is that OP which i love. But this country is capital F if they keep on believing this saintess’ ideology (more like idiocy). If the king is truly wise, then he would realize how capital F his country is.

    1. I really want to shove some reality into Liz’s pretty little head. OUR DEAR ALI NEARLY DEAD BECAUSE OF YOU, BITCH! From the start of Liz’s appearance, I knew I would hate her the most. Why did Duke still not chop her head? Her head is the source of calamity. oh god, I’m so pissed

  3. I actually feel a tiny bit sorry for Liz here because it’s impossible to have a meaningful argument here when she’s surrounded by idiots. Not that I think it would help.

    I wonder if Alicia will have her noble title stripped at some point? I don’t actually think she’d care though and it wouldn’t slow her down too much, I’d think.

    1. Unless the Kingdom truly becomes the Land of Flower-Headed Idiots, I don’t see how she could even lose her title.

    2. Duh it easy, make liz love someone then you kill that someone infront of her with her cant do anything to stop it, see her reaction, will she still hold no hatred? Saying something is easy, but when we faced with the same situation, many of us will did it differently from what we said previously. Typical people like her will be broken easily, just give her big shock like i said before, then they broke

        1. I find it hard to believe that Albert and the majority of the gang are brainwashed by Liz to that extant… They saw how hard Ali worked to be a noble worth her rank and that were present when she had the first two meetings with the king. That they would despise her for arguing with Liz about serious topics is weird for me. Liz must really have brainwashed them. I love this story. Thanks for the translation.

          1. Yea most probably Liz is doing enchantment magic subconsciously ,which just shows how much she desperately wants the people around her to love and agree with her .Honestly its extremely laughable how easily her groupies succumb to her magic when they are supposedly cream of the crop for their generation in terms of magic .Haiz ,the perks of being an MC for an otome game .

  4. Mad props to the author and you to make Liz such a hated character!
    P.S. Thnx for the chapter!
    P.P.S Can someone in that world plz kidnap Liz and place her in the same situation plz?? I want her fanatics to kill the ones that kidnapped her and show her the cold, cold hard reality.

  5. Looks like Eric, Alan, Gayle, and Albert have all become idiots. That is some impressive brainwashing…and why I wouldn’t hesitate to execute Liz if I was the King. She’s gonna turn the entire country into morons at this rate.

    My man, Gilles, came in spitting facts, good for him. Too bad, like I said before, I really think there’s a chance Liz could smarten up under the right circumstances (not saying I’d take the chance if I was the King, the price and chance of failure is too high for my liking), but there’s no chance at all as long as the King is incompetent and she’s surrounded by idiots who’ll cut into the conversation whenever Liz and Gilles tries to talk some sense into her. For what it’s worth I was surprised that Liz showed a reaction when Alicia pointed out that the guy wasn’t unarmed, that he had a dagger and would’ve killed her when she was frozen and that one of her fans orchestrated the kidnapping, but of course Idiot E steps in and interferes.

    Calling it now, Liz will be the Last Boss and the King and Liz’s Idiot Crew will have no one to blame but themselves. I said it before and I’ll say it again, the King is the biggest idiot in the story…yes, even worse that the flower-headed dumbass here. Sure, Alicia is probably as good a monitor as you can get, but as long as Liz is never disciplined, never corrected, never punished for her mistakes, how can she learn? She can’t! And she will turn out just like every other spoiled brat who was never told “No” does. Thanks, Baka-Ou.

  6. i know im not the only one who is so frustrated with this story but guess what. we’re still reading it, I AM STILL READING IT. why? BECAUSE I WANT TO KNOW HOW DUKE WOULD REJECT LIZ (since he clearly likes alicia) AND HOW THAT PRETTY LOOKING, BRAINWASHING, FLOWER(AIR)HEAD WOULD FEEL AND REALIZE THAT ALL SHE isㅡ is well, naive and prettyyyyy stupid with her so-called “wise” decisions.

  7. they should test their theories, send Ali to a bandit-den and have her kill everyone and see if the criminality rates in the area drops, and then send Liz to another den and see if she can brainwash them… if she can brainwash them, might as well just end her on a pilgramage right away.

    1. actually… you know what… Ali def needs to stop her half assed act, and be a true vilainess, hire some assassins and thugs to harass her family and her.

  8. I actually wanna hear Ali-chan spat: “Not everybody can live the way you’re living. There are people who kill another to live. What if someone stole your money from you even though yoy worked for it half to death What if there is someone out there who wants to rap* you? What if that person want to defile you? Imagine that you don’t have anything, i mean anything. Imagine there are no one bt your side and you are alone. Imagine, none of your friends are there to be by your side to protect that flowery head of yours. Sure, maybe you’ll eventually die because you don’t want to kill someone even though they want to kill you. No one will see that heroic and pitiful act of yours. Everything is pointless when you are dead after all, ms. Saintess-sama.”, to that pretty face of hers.

  9. Thank you for the chapter! Gilles is such a MVP, calling out all the right stuff. I love this precious genius kid🥰 As for the rest, everyone above said it all. I’m off for a cuppa so I can calm down. I’m so ready for the upcoming subtle and not so subtle mental slaps Liz is going to take regarding Duke and Ali😂

  10. I wrote about Neil punishment and small punishment for Liz and losers =P. I don’t remember reading about Neil death last chapter maybe i passed through it. Love the events made by the translator.

      1. Liz is straight up dumb and cannot be argued with. man, I feel so bad for alicia for having to argue with someone like her. 😞

  11. well its actually my first time comment
    first of all thank you for the author and carnation scan (^.^)
    I’m pissed too how the smart gayle become blind like some idiot
    and that idealistic idiot heroine liz [-_-“]
    just where in the world she living!? do we need to send her to a war so she can know in what world she’s in??
    i hope in the future she became smarter or if not just die!!
    if you really a saintess you must be wise enought to tell which one is better for the sake of many people
    even if we need some sacrifice if needed
    dont just big mouthed you d*mn b*tch!!!!
    (sorry to swear:v just thinking about liz make me upset [^_^”] )

  12. Thanks for the chapter.

    Liz’s groupies amazingly can’t see the point. While I think Liz at least sees the point she’s not ready to give up on her point of view.

    I’ll now take a moment to actually disagree with Alicia for once. The pacifist leader role has actually been used successfully more than once in the past by more than one person. Mind you most of the time they end up dead and become martyrs, but that doesn’t change the fact they were successful. Liz’s issue was that she interfered via power which is hypocritical of the pacifist way.

    Liz is hypocritical, not that she believes in the peace and not that she says you shouldn’t kill anyone, but that she uses magical power to promote her beliefs.

  13. Huh, there is something about those Liz eyes. I wonder what would happen, if someone were to stare deeply, real deeply into them (without proper magic protection) – and vice versa – if someone doesn’t see those eyes for, say, a week?

    Thank you as always for the translation. Enjoy your day off 🙂

  14. … What if Liz is just acting and is actually a spy from another country (something similar to a novel i read before but I forgot the name if anyone knows the novel please leave a comment) and the reason she stopped Alicia is because she wants to kill a future threat.

  15. Can we just lock Liz into the abandoned village for like.. 1 year or so? She really needs the reality check

  16. Thank you for the chapters! They made my day so much better, and now I can sleep peacefully knowing Ali and Gilles are gonna give Liz a good scolding! I do hope she learns from this incident, and she should be punished thoroughly (make her step on a lego, Ali!). I hope you have a good day, RFoE!

  17. Thank you for the chapter Translator sama. I am convinced now more than ever that Liz is some flower brained reincarnation of some Liz fan who played the game in a previous life just like Alicia. Remember back about twenty chapter ago when Liz fell unconscious cause her magic went wild. I think that was her regaining her memories of her past life. I got a feeling little miss flower brained idiot is about to become unhinged.

  18. What I believe Alicia should have said at the beginning: “If protecting others is truly your ONLY aim, you would have chosen a shield, not a sword.”

    1. True. That probably would have had more of an impact since you can still protect others with a sword. Sometimes I feel like she gets so CLOSE to making a great point, but she ends up missing it by just a little bit

      1. Especially since the situation she was in had nothing to do with revenge but rather self-defense and mortal danger.

        1. It’s moments like these that I get very curious about the light novel. These chapters from the webnovel can, in a way, be considered a first or second draft of the story. The light novel is the officially published work so I wonder what sort of changes were made and if these details were smoothed over in it

Leave a Comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑